I love Fantasy Football…


It’s that time of year again. Football season. I love it. It’s one of those things I can really get into. But what really makes it fun is the element of Fantasy Football. Where a group of friends get together and talk football. It’s like those conversations that always come up “Man you know Joe Flacco would do as well as Kurt Warner against those guys?” Just imagine your average conversation about football and fantasy football tries to answer those questions. Questions like: “What would it be like if Drew Brees and Frank Gore were on the same team?” It’s a fantasy world based on real life statistics.

I always play online every season with some people that I don’t even know. I just play. But this year I got invited to be a part of a fantasy league with some friends at work. This was only the second live draft I have ever been a part of and I was nervous going in. Luckily I drew the first pick and picked none other than Saints quarterback Drew Brees. I was ecstatic about getting him. Woot Woot!

Watching football is fun to begin with, but when you have a player on your fantasy team on television tearing it up, you go haywire. When you’re matched up with one of your friends for the week and you’ve spent x amount of time figuring out who to start and who to bench it gets pretty crazy. You can celebrate your genius by picking a sleeper and you can lament at the star of the day that you so ‘wisely’ benched. It’s a paragon of emotions all wrapped up in the fall pastime of America.

Really there is no money involved, just good clean fun. You can chalk it up to the reality that you win some and you lose some.  I love the fact that when I mop up a friend of mine I can rub it in his face a bit and take it when I lose the next week. It’s all up in the air. Because when they kick off, you do too!

Now it’s time to set my roster for the week! Lata bros!

~ by timbrownlee on October 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
