Experiencing the Beatitudes Part 4


Blessed are the merciful; for they shall obtain mercy. Matthew 5:7

 This set was by far the best of the whole series. At first my team was nervous about singing about mercy when I told them that this was the only one we were doing. They were thinking “have mercy” and that would be it. But, I had something else up my sleeve. I was studying this particular verse week and parallelling it with Hosea 6:6 saying “I desire mercy and not sacrifice and the knowledge of God rather than burnt offerings” I notice that Jesus quotes this verse alot in the Gospels… I really didn’t count it. But he does say this to the Pharisees in Matthew 9 when he’s eating with Matthew and his tax collector friends.

Which made me think; God desires mercy, he says blessed are the merciful, so on the same token; How much more should I desire mercy? How many times have I not only witheld mercy but I’ve given it begrudgingly? A gift given begrudgingly is almost worse as not even giving the gift at all. So he’s not only telling me to be merciful, but to love to do it. To love to give mercy to even my enemies and those who intentionally screw me over.

How different the world is! The world says “I don’t get mad, I get even.” God says, blessed are the merciful, for they shall be given mercy.” How many times have I screwed God over? I mean come on I killed his son just by telling a white lie. Jesus said “Father forgive them”. Matthew 18:21-22 gives the account where Peter asked Jesus “Teacher how many times should we forgive our brother for the same offense, seven times?” Jesus answered, “Seventy times seven” how do you keep count forgiving someone 490 times? I can’t keep count of everyone of every offense, I would have to start over everyday! But to DELIGHT IN MERCY is something beyond our fragile human understanding and something absurd to our selfish, rights demanding, i’m better than you society.

Stephanie said something after the set that struck me, “To forgive someone that many times, to delight in it, and to love it when you have the opportunity means you really have to lay down your rights. You can’t do that without a revelation of how much you’ve been forgiven.” That is so true. We can never truly forgive or have mercy on others without a revelation of the mercy given to us.

Today during the set I and my team (Tiffany who is the most fantastic worship leader ever and Stephanie, who is a woman after God’s own heart) made the commitment that we are going to love mercy as much as God does. We are going to love to give it. We want to abound in mercy as God does (Psalm 103:8).

I look forward to more sets like this!

~ by timbrownlee on October 27, 2007.

One Response to “Experiencing the Beatitudes Part 4”

  1. Very well said, I totally agree. I used to be a very unforgiving person but the Lord has changed that and it is such amazing freedom to not have hatred in my heart for anyone. I have to pray constantly that God keep giving me mercy for others, especially when I’ve been hurt and He is so awesome to provide!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
