Experiencing the Beatitudes Part 3


Well, another Saturday morning, another Worship with the Word with the Beatitudes. I was so dang busted tired since I only had about 6 hours of sleep and my head was hurting because I was having to force my eyes open. Meditating on the meekness of Christ was awesome if I wasn’t dozing off ON THE STAGE. I did this twice then I stormed off the stage, made myself a cup of coffee to keep myself awake. The coffee did the trick and I was able to make it. But by that time we were on Hungering and Thirsting for righteousness. Now that was awesome. To realize to empty myself, and cry out for something different and better was commonsense. Then I realized that I cannot be hungry and thirsty for righteousness unless I was poor in spirit, mourning over it, and meek all at the same time. This pursuit of righteousness has to be single, narrow minded, and desperate.

The Beatitudes all have a dependency on each other. What good is being poor in spirit when you don’t mourn over it? What good is mourning if you aren’t humbled and made meek by it. What good are any of those when you don’t hunger and thirst for the very thing you are poor in? It’s very interesting to think about it. To think of how much the other beatitudes need each other as this continues is going to be amazing. I am looking forward to seeing how much these all inter-depend on each other. John Stott said it to a certain degree in his book “The Message on the Sermon on the Mount” and he also correlated the rewards of obedience.

All in all it was a good set. I enjoyed it immensely. I just hope I can stay awake during it all!

~ by timbrownlee on October 22, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
