accepting Christ, and rejecting the world…


I read this pretty awesome devotional by A.W. Tozer in that it said that Accepting Christ means Rejecting All Else… it made me think… God’s system is so contrary to the system of the world… Even Paul said that the foolishness of God is wiser than the wisest wisdom of men… So in that sense, When we accept Christ, we not only reject the “things” of this world, but we also reject the “philosophy” of the world too… So from the day we confess Christ, we commit ourselves to thinking like him, acting like him, loving the things he loves and hating the things he hates.

So, with that understanding I come to the realization that although my best efforts to act like Christ end in total and complete failure, his grace is that which leads me on to do the things that he has called me to do. My nature is still inclined to think, feel, and act like the world that I am constantly trying to fight. Friendship with the world is enmity with God. Plain and simple. So now I have to come to the question: Just how much of this world that I have supposedly rejected am I allowing to govern my life? Worldly friendships, Worldly play, Worldly means of wasting my time. Do I make myself a hypocrite by professing Christ and valuing these things that the world loves seeing how that makes me clearly an enemy with God?

Where does a Christian draw the line? I see so much compromise in the Church today… they teach an easy grace meaning you can live like you want to because you’re not under the law but under grace and that’s a total misconception of God’s true grace.  Grace is God’s power and unmerited favor upon your life to execute his purposes. He resists the proud but gives grace to the humble.

Just how much “innocent” media do I indulge myself in? Paul said that all things are lawful but not all things are beneficial… If I want my life to make the most impact for the Kingdom of God then how often do I rub shoulders with something he is clearly against? Those are “legitimate” pleasures but they kill the spirit? There is good things in entertainment, but doesn’t God want to be our entertainment? This is a very fine lined subject and you have to walk one… There is fullness of joy in his presence and pleasures forevermore at his right hand. So am i making a mistake by seeking “pleasure” somewhere other than him? Is it really something that’s going to last? To tell you the truth, i’m tired of fake. I want truth. There is no truth in the world but truth is in Christ… I want him… now it’s me against the world… literally

This is a touchy subject because some people would call me legalistic or a Pharisee… But seriously, what one calls legalism another calls devotion. What one calls too much may be God’s requirement to another… We are all different and we all have our own personal relationship with God… I never want to be accused of forcing my yoke on another… that sucks it’s happened to me and I never want to do it to anyone else… I will be however accused of holding Christians to the standard according to the Sermon on the Mount because that is the standard no ifs ands or buts about it… So consider this my disclaimer…

~ by timbrownlee on October 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “accepting Christ, and rejecting the world…”

  1. […] GlenThompson wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptBut seriously, what one calls legalism another calls devotion. What one calls too much may be God’s requirement to another… We are all different and we all have our own personal relationship with God… I never want to be accused of … […]

    Like

  2. “what one calls legalism another calls devotion”

    Well said and Amen Brother!

    Like

  3. I didn’t know my name was Glen Thompson…. interesting… and Tim… what a coincidence… the last time i checked we have the same name lol…

    Like

  4. This is a struggle I have constantly…Unfortunately, I have given into the world too many times and I am still learning. I am trying to spend more time praying and more time reading the Word rather than watching movies or listening to my talk radio. I am a work in progress but I am trying to listen to the Spirit telling me when I need to stop doing something.

    Very well said Timmy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
