The Sermon on the Mount my thoughts on the subject of a lifetime


The Sermon on the Mount…. the most awesome sermon ever given. I really don’t call it just one sermon, I call it a conglomeration of sermons. A collection of the best and truest words ever to escape human lips. The words of the most influential man ever to walk this earth Jesus Christ. Even skeptics cannot deny his impact on the annals of human history. More songs have been written, more wars faught, more buildings have been built, more societies created, and more charitable deeds have been done in HIS name more than any other cause, person, or idea in history.

My wondering is WHY DO PEOPLE STILL SAY THAT HIS TEACHING DOESN’T APPLY TODAY?… There are CHRISTIANS who say that the Sermon on the Mount is redundant? To me the Sermon isn’t a suggestion or a good idea, IT’S AN ULTIMATUM. It’s a condition that if you want God, you have to do these things or you have to be in this condition. Only the pure in heart shall see him (Psalm 24:3-4) only the poor in spirit will inherit the kingdom of heaven. Only those who hunger and thrist for righteousness will be filled. Proverbs 27:7 says that the full soul loathes the honeycomb but to a hungry man even the bitter food is sweet. God isn’t going to fill a person that is already filled with the vices of this world. It’s like a glass, if it’s full, there is no sense of filling it with something different than what is already in it. God isn’t going to fill someone with his spirit who is already full of the world, because his spirit is against that of the world and the two CANNOT coexist. He resisits the proud and gives grace to the humble it says in Hebrews…

I want to be one that takes these words and does them. I want to build my house on the rock so that when the winds blow and the floods arise my house will stand. Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Psalm 127:1. I want the Lord to build my house and I want him to test it and test it often. Who wants to build a house to live in and not want to know if there is a problem. I want to see this as me building my mansion in heaven. I am God’s Building as it says in 1 Corinthains 3. I have my foundation in the Love of God, now my life I like to view as the material that goes onto my house. I can have the worthless wood, hay, and stubble, or I can live the Sermon on the Mount and have it count as Gold, Silver, and Precious Stones. With each right I lay down, with everytime I don’t demand my rights from men, the more I realize my need for God, more quality material is added to my mansion. More Jewels are added to my crown for every act of obedience. The Lord is a REWARDER of those who dilegently seek him (Heb 11:6). I want ALL of what God has for me. I want to be counted worthy. I want to know that when the winds blow and I’m counted worthy to suffer and still see my house standing, I want to know that my job is well done!

So, I want to know why we think we can have the world and God and think we can get by with that? With God it’s all or nothing. He wants all of us or none of us. He plays second fiddle to nobody. No flesh glories in his presence says 1 Corinthians 1:29. So why do we think that we can “have our cake and eat it too?”

~ by timbrownlee on September 28, 2007.

One Response to “The Sermon on the Mount my thoughts on the subject of a lifetime”

  1. “So, I want to know why we think we can have the world and God and think we can get by with that? With God it’s all or nothing. He wants all of us or none of us. He plays second fiddle to nobody. No flesh glories in his presence says 1 Corinthians 1:29. So why do we think that we can “have our cake and eat it too?”

    I asked the same questions for yyeeeaaarrrsss!!!
    Tim

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
